Reimagining the 90’s teen bedroom

Precious Osoba
7 min readNov 23, 2020

Fandom, music culture and merchandise in the digital age.

‘In My Room: Teenagers in their Bedrooms’ by Adrienne Salinger, 1995

I write a Bi-weekly newsletter about marketing, strategy and behavioural sciences. Subscribe for insights directly to your inbox.

I’ve been working on this article for months but i’ve found it difficult to synthesise all the thoughts, cultural moments and behavioural shifts into an article that’ll immerse you in my thought process. The piece you are about to read is my third and final attempt to write this article and is based on a concept that came to me 800 words into my second draft- The 90’s teen bedroom.

Imagine you’re in the 90’s when teen bedrooms looked a bit like this. They had posters cut out from magazines plastered across the walls, calendars, cassettes, CD’s and video tapes stacked in order and a wardrobe filled with T-shirts bought at concerts and festivals. Who remembers manually rewinding your cassette so you can listen to your favourite song for the 100th time? Or gazing at the artwork on the cover of the album you queued up for hours to get your hands on?

Via a really cool blog I stumbled across

Noticeably in the world of today, much of music culture is digital — physical forms of music have been replaced by…

--

--